## LITERARY LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARDS

Literary Lifetime Achievement Awards are singular honors reserved for those authors whose body of work has been consistently exemplary throughout their careers. These awards include the following.

The Nobel Prize for Literature; Pen America Awards including the PEN/Saul Bellow, PEN/Nabokov, and PEN/Malamud awards; The National Book Foundation Medals; The Library of Congress Award; The American Academy for Arts and Letters Award; The F. Scott Fitzgerald and Carl Sandberg Literary Awards; The Royal Society for Literature in the U.K Award; The National Endowment for the Humanities Award; The National Arts Club Medal; The Helmerich Award and the Romance Writers of America Award.

Some of the winners listed below have received a number of these awards so rather than duplicate the recipient's name I have listed them just once. The number in parentheses after some names refers to the number of these awards they have received. The authors names are listed in alphabetical order. The exception to this is the Nobel Prize for Literature where we have listed both the author and the year, they received this award separately.

All of these authors have books, stories and/or other printed material in the Heritage Hills Library.

## NOBEL PRIZE FOR LITERATURE WINNERS

2013—Alice Munroe

2010—Mario Vargas Llosa

2006—Orhan Pamuk

1993—Toni Morrison

1982—Gabriel Garcia Marquez

1979—Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn

1978—Isaac Bashevis Singer

1954—Ernest Hemingway

1936—Eugene O'Neill

1907—Rudyard Kipling

## LITERARY LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD WINNERS

Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn Herman Wouk Neil deGrasse Tyson Alexander McCall Smith Hilary Mantel Nora Roberts Alice McDermott Norman Mailer (3) Ian McEwan Alice Munro (2) Isaac Bashevis Singer P.D. James Allan Furst Isabel Allende (3) Philip Roth (4) Amy Tan James Patterson Richard Russo Ann Patchett Rick Atkinson Jayne Anne Krentz Barbara Kingsolver Joan Didion (3) Robert Caro (4) Cormac McCarthy John Grisham (3) Ron Chernow David Macaulay John le Carré Salman Rushdie (3) David McCullough (6) John Updike (6) Sandra Brown Scott Turow Debbie Macomber Joseph Campbell Doris Kerns Goodwin (2) Joyce Carol Oats (5) Shelby Foote (3) Ken Burns E.M. Forster Stacy Schiff Elie Wiesel Larry McMurtry (3) Stephen Ambrose Elmore Leonard (2) Louise Erdrich (2) Stephen King Margaret Atwood (2) Tom Wolfe (3) Erik Larson Eudora Welty (3) Mario Vargas Llosa Toni Morrison (7) Michael Chabon Walter Isaacson George Saunders

Michael Lewis

William Manchester (3)

Harold Bloom (2)